Media Advisory: Robinson-Huron Treaty Lawsuit Hearings to Commence Against Federal and Provincial Governments in Thunder Bay

Robinson-Huron Treaty Litigation Fund

(Thunder Bay, ON) On September 9, 2014, First Nations representatives of the Robinson-Huron Treaty of 1850 brought a lawsuit against Canada and Ontario for their failure to implement the terms of the 1850 treaty, specifically the annuity augmentation.

The court action resulting from this historic lawsuit will begin September 25, 2017 with hearings in Thunder Bay. The Chiefs will be available to share information on the details of this lawsuit, which could have major impacts on Canada’s approach to honouring and implementing treaties.

What: Robinson-Huron Treaty Annuities Case

Date & Time: Monday, September 25th, 2017, 10:00 am

Location: Thunder Bay Court House  125 Brodie Street North Thunder Bay, Ontario  


  • Chief Dean Sayers, Batchewana First Nation Chief Duke Peltier, Wikwemikong Unceded Reserve
  • National Chief Perry Bellegarde  
  • Other Chiefs from the Robinson-Huron Treaty Territory will be available for media interviews.

This first phase of the court action will take place from September 25, 2017 to March 29, 2018, and will move from Thunder Bay to Manitoulin Island, Garden River First Nation and Sudbury, ON.


The Chiefs and Principle men of the Ojibways of Lake Huron entered into treaty with the British Crown on September 9, 1850. The treaty committed the Crown to provide treaty annuities, including the augmentation of annuities as the lands produced revenue that would support an increase in the annuities without incurring loss.

The Robinson-Huron Treaty recognizes the political and economic relationship between the First Nations signatories and the Crown, including the sharing of revenues of any resource development on the lands involved  in the treaty, which covers approximately 35,700 square miles of territory primarily in northeastern Ontario. The Crown has not acted honorably in maintaining its promises set out in the treaty and the Robinson-Huron Treaty Chiefs, successors of the original signatories, are acting on their responsibility to ensure that the terms of the Treaty are honoured.

Contact Information

For Robinson-Huron Trust: Mike Restoule: 705-498-7353, [email protected]

For AFN National Chief Perry Bellegarde: Jamie Monastyrski, Press Secretary - National Chief’s Office: 613-241-6789 ext. 222, 343-540-6179 (cell), [email protected]

1 Miigizi Mikan, P.O Box 711, North Bay, ON P1B 8J8
[email protected]
Office: 705.497.9127 – Mobile: 705.498.7353 – Fax: 705.497.9135

Atikameksheng Anishnawbek – Aundeck Omni Kaning – Batchewana – Dokis – Garden River – Henvey Inlet – Magnetawan – M’Chigeeng – Mississauga #8 – Nipissing – Sagamok Anishnawbek – Serpent River – Shawanaga – Sheguiandah – Sheshegwaning – Thessalon – Wahnapitae – Wasauksing – Whitefish River – Wikwemikong Unceded Indian Reserve – Zhiibaahaasing