Turning Down the Heat – Pour due le climat ait meilleure mine
Turning Down the Heat – Pour due le climat ait meilleure mine
Blog Entry

Virtual round table: "Turning Down the Heat: Can We Mine Our Way Out of the Climate Crisis?"

Please join us for a virtual round table looking at where are we at, one year after the conference: a report-back and conversation with MiningWatch staff and special guests from around the world.

November 17, 2020 – 2-4 pm EST (7-9 pm London, 9-11 pm Johannesburg)

Following up on the conference "Turning Down the Heat: Can We Mine Our Way Out of the Climate Crisis?", we will present the conference report and host a virtual round table addressing three related themes:

  • updates from extractive regions in the Americas, Africa, and Asia Pacific
  • reflections on how pressure is being/can be built to (a) reduce energy consumption and demand for minerals and metals, and (b) impose stricter conditions on extraction (FPIC/right to say 'no', no-go zones, safeguards etc.); and
  • perspectives on how efforts to respond to the COVID-19 pandemic and build a Green Recovery/Green New Deal are working towards global equity – or not.

Our special guests for this round table will be:

  • Katie McKenna, The Leap (Toronto) – moderator
  • Monique Manatch, Knowledge Keeper, Algonquins of Barriere Lake
  • Jamie Kneen, MiningWatch Canada – presentation of the conference report
  • Anjali Appadurai, Sierra Club BC (Vancouver) – Climate justice, Green New Deals, extractivism, and the renewable energy transition
  • Andrew Whitmore, Deep Sea Mining Campaign (London, UK) – Deep sea mining and the renewable energy transition
  • Ramón Balcázar, Observatorio Plurinacional de Salares Andinos (Chile) – Lithium extraction in Latin America
  • Trusha Reddy, WoMin (South Africa) – Climate justice from an African perspective
  • Ugo Lapointe, MiningWatch Canada – How to avoid undermining the energy transition in Quebec/BC/Canada

Register here