webinar
Green Energy, Green Mining, Green New Deal?
Blog Entry

Webinar: Green Energy, Green Mining, Green New Deal?

**Now available** see the recorded webinar video on Youtube and the presentations from the speakers here: May Dagher/Dmitri Kharitidi, Payal Sampat, Thea Riofrancos

__________________________________________

11 am (Vancouver/San Francisco/La Paz) – 2 pm (Toronto/New York/Santiago) – 7 pm (London/Lisbon/Lagos)

Free registration – also on Facebook

The mining sector is working hard to take advantage of the climate crisis, painting mining as "green" because it supplies materials needed to support the "green" energy transition. But unless demand for both energy and materials are curtailed, environmental destruction and social conflicts will also continue to grow. How can a "Green New Deal" address this contradiction?

— with —

May Dagher & Dmitri Kharitidi – Citizen coalition against the Nouveau Monde Graphite project, Quebec, Canada (see also herehere, and here)

Payal Sampat – Mining Program Director at Earthworks, co-leader of the Making Clean Energy Clean, Just & Equitable campaign and co-author of the recent report Recharge Responsibly 

Thea N. Riofrancos – Associate Professor of Political Science (Providence College), co-author of A Planet to Win: Why We Need a Green New Deal and author of Resource Radicals: From Petro-Nationalism to Post-Extractivism in Ecuador

Opening/Closing: Monique Manatch, Algonquins of Barriere Lake Knowledge Keeper, cofounder of Indigenous Culture & Media Innovations

Moderator: Jamie Kneen, Communications & Strategy Coordinator, MiningWatch Canada, co-author of Turning Down the Heat: Can We Mine Our Way Out of the Climate Crisis?  

See also War on Want's recent report on this issue: A Material Transition: Exploring Supply and Demand Solutions For Renewable Energy Minerals